The state of California takes boating accidents very seriously. Every year hundreds of people are killed and thousands of people are injured in boating accidents. Similar to other accidents it is extremely important that you report the accident as soon as possible in order to preserve the evidence in a boating accident. If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident you should consult with an experienced California boating accident lawyer at the Amerberg Law Group immediately. Our personal injury lawyers are here to guide you through your case and make sure you receive full compensation for your injuries.
Majority of boating accidents are avoidable, the fundamental reason for these accidents is simply negligence. Most boating accidents are caused by the operator’s inexperience or just by being distracted. Some of these serious accidents and injuries may include:
According to https://www.uscgboating.org/library/accident-statistics/Recreational-Boating-Statistics-2016.pdf in the year 2016, the Coast Guard counted nearly 4,463 recreational boating accidents that resulted in roughly $49 million dollars in property damage, 2,903 injuries, and 701 fatalities.
Luckily there are steps that you can take to avoid becoming a statistic, you can do so by practicing basic boating safety tips and guidelines. Some safe boating tips include:
California law states that it is illegal to operate a watercraft in a reckless manner as to endanger the life of the occupants on the vessel as well as endanger the life of others on the waterway.
California law requires the operators and owners to follow both federal and state laws in the maintenance and upkeep of their vessels. It prohibits anyone from operating any watercraft in a careless or negligent way to avoid jeopardizing the life, appendage, or personal property of an individual. California law also forbids the operation of a watercraft at improper speeds. Furthermore, passengers are not allowed to ride on the gunwales, bow, or any other place on the vessel where it puts the individual at risk of falling overboard.
The Federal Boat Safety Act that congress passed in 1971 allowed the United States Coast Guard to establish a certain set of principles on the safety equipment for vessels. Federal Law requires vessels to be prepared with specific safety tools that the United States Coast Guard has to approve of. This includes personal flotation devices also known as PFDs (life jackets), fire extinguishers, gas ventilation devices, back-fire flame arresters, sound producing devices (such as a power operated whistle or horn), and visual distress signals (flare guns).
The California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways requires vessel operators to report any boating accident. They are required to provide you with their names, addresses, and registration numbers to anyone involved in the accident as well as provide assistance to those injured as a result. The owner or operator of the vessel must make a written report to the California State Parks Division of Boating and Waterways if the accident resulted in:
If the accident only resulted in property damage the report must be filed within 10 days of the accident. If the accident results in the disappearance, injury, or death of an individual this report must be filed within 48 hours of the accident.
Here at the Amerberg Law Group, we have an amazing team of dedicated professionals that will fight the insurance companies to give you the compensation that you rightfully deserve. We are equipped to answer any legal queries that you may have relating to your case. In order to take full advantage of your chance to recover the full amount of damages for your case, you need a knowledgeable California boating accident attorney in your corner. Please contact our boating accident attorneys in order for us to understand the specifics associated with your case. Call and schedule a free consultation now at 833-338-HURT.
Here at Amerberg Law Group we are prepared to answer any legal questions you may have concerning your case. We offer completely free and confidential legal consultation and case evaluation from one of our trusted California personal injury lawyers. Schedule your consultation by calling toll free: 1877-897-7228